top of page


Therapeutic Recreation Symposium for the Southwest (TRSSW) Awards Committee presents annual recognition to professionals, agencies, institutions, or individuals who contribute to the development or support of Therapeutic Recreation in the Southwest Region (Arkansas, Louisiana, Oklahoma, New Mexico, and Texas) through two awards. Please nominate your STARS!

Outstanding Therapeutic Recreation Professional


  1. Must be NCTRC certified.

  2. Must have been an active member of a state, regional or national TR professional organization for a minimum of three (3) years.

  3. Within the last three (3) years, the nominee must have contributed to the professional growth of therapeutic recreation in at least four (4) of the following areas:

    1. Authorship of professional material in books or journals

    2. Lecture presentation on TR to state, regional or national organizations

    3. Served as chairperson for program development for TR at a state, regional or national conference

    4. Represented TR by acting as a state, regional or national representative from their home state or region

    5. Provided concentrated action or leadership towards appropriate TR legislation at the state or national level

    6. Developed innovative programs in TR that provided additional service to clients

    7. Developed research in TR that has proven to be beneficial to the TR profession

TRSSW 2019_061 Larry Davis Award.jpg

Larry Davis, CTRS  2019

Outstanding Therapeutic Recreation

Service Award


  1. Any person, agency, organization, civic group, volunteer, etc. who has made a significant contribution to the development and/or support of TR in the Southwest may be nominated for this recognition

  2. Areas of consideration for selection include leadership directed toward the betterment of TR, legislative efforts on behalf of the profession on the local, state or national level and participation on regional, state and national TR committees/task forces beyond assumed position responsibilities

TRSSW 2019_058 LL Award and TS group.jpg

Dr. Litchke, Ph.D., CTRS  2019

Please direct questions to

bottom of page